Cricket Club (2)

YCC 1936
Title Yeadon Cricket Club
Date 1936
Location Yeadon
Photo ID W259
Comment Yeadon Cricket Club who defeated Otley at Ilkley on September 26, won the championship of the Wharfedale and Airedale league.

Back row L to R: J A Gooder, R D Denison, W Cousins, H Stott, W Hanson, W Exley, A C Booth (Scorer).

Front Row L to R: A Booth, E Towers, G Hardcastle (Captain), J T Bell, L H Towers.

YCC 1946

B020 – Yeadon Cricket Club, 1946.

Yeadon Cricket Club 1st Eleven – 1946

Photo taken outside the pavilion at the White Swan ground, most of these men are named:

Back Row L-R: 1. Arthur Booth, 2. Jimmy Sample, 3. Harry Stott, 4. John Thompson Bell, 5.? Smith, 6?, 7?, 8. Ben Dean.

Seated Row L-R: 9. Rufus Denison, 10. Sidney Smith, 11. George Hardcastle. (Captain) 12. ? 13. John Absolom Gooder, 14. Bert Denison.

In Front L-R:15. Albert Booth, 16?.

YCC Undated

F544 – Yeadon Cricket Club, Undated.

Yeadon Cricket Club – Undated

Bonfire Night, Yeadon.
A substantial bonfire built at the Yeadon Cricket Club ground at the White Swan, utilising wooden pallets, garden waste and unwanted furniture.
Donated by Keith Spink.

YCC Undated

F543 – Yeadon Cricket Club, Undated.

Yeadon Cricket Club – Undated

As above.

Yeadon Cricket Club 2013

H241 – Yeadon Cricket Club, 2013.

Yeadon Cricket Club – 2013

Yeadon Cricket Club score-board and cricket pitch located behind the White Swan Hotel.

Photographer John Arundel.

Previous Comments:

Re B020
teleg – 27 June 2013.
Syd Smith was a teacher at South view school when I was there in the 30’s. He was also in Salonika during the first world war and “When I was in Salonika” became his catchphrase.

Re B018
potty01926 – 27 January 2014.
Jack Gaunt has identified the players and staff as back row: Gerald Long, Barry Norfolk, Phil Myers, Jack Gaunt, R Holgate, Cec Oddie, Cliff Oddie, Harry Dean, Enos Dibb.

Front row: Bernard Graham, Gordon Myers, Brian Close, Chris Stephenson, Brian Walsh.

Re FFR173
Young1 – 22 January 2019.
Is the Mr Young mentioned Fred Priest Young. Private 8th battalion Duke of Wellingtons West Riding Regiment, Died October 1st 1917 Belgium.

Re F544
Robert Slater – 21 November 2019.
From L to R:

Tony O’Connor, ?, Mick Harper, Chris Dibb.

<< Page 1

Consolidated by Jake Burrows (D of EA). 01 September 2021.
Last updated: 01 September 2021.

Leave a comment